.:Trailer Help? (Spoilers)

December 26, 2008 at 7:06 am (Uncategorized)

“If you reveal your secrets to the wind you should not blame the wind for revealing them to the trees.”
~
Kahlil Gibran

While I am currently taking a mini-break from most things production related for Christmas (it helps that my primary computer is crippled until I wipe it and reinstall all my programs… what joy that will bring…), my mind is still on what is next on the list: The Greyscale trailer.

We’ve shot nearly everything we need to shoot to put together what I think will be a great trailer. The only things missing are a few scenes that involve a bit of gunplay and other action-y things that would look great in half-second bursts to quickly paced music…

.:Reveals

I’ve been told the trailer isn’t a narrative tool… it’s a marketing tool. And one has to be careful not to give away all ‘the good bits.’ Fewer things are more disappointing than walking out of the theater feeling like you just paid to see all the less exciting scenes. While I’m going through all the footage to pick out the best looking imagery, I have to think about what each piece says.

What I’m looking to avoid is letting the audience have what basically amounts to a checklist where they ecan say, “Well this character can’t diyet because I’ve seen them in a scene in the trailer and it hasn’t happened in the movie yet.” What I’m also looking to avoid is giving too much of a twisty plot away.

Here’s where I’m looking for some help from some people close to the project… so… I’ll just say right now: SPOILER ALERT!

I’m getting the distinct feeling that if I show the turning point from Plot Point 1 (Julia’s fate from Act 1 revealed), then Plot Point 1 is ruined and the first act loses the feel I’m working hard to craft and makes our hero look possibly a little emo…

…now, if I don’t include the Plot Point 1 reveal, then the personal element of Acts 2 and 3 aren’t present and might leave the audience wondering why on earth they should watch this movie (if for other reasons than seeing Doug Jones or Tim Russ in a movie) , and even being a bit ambiguous could create a lack of interest.

Thoughts? How much do we tell the audience? How far into the movie do we show?

-Ryan

Leave a Reply

