.:Villains and Soundwaves

March 14, 2008 at 3:16 pm (Uncategorized)

“The more successful the villain, the more successful the picture.”
~Alfred Hitchcock

I’m up to version 1.5 of Greyscale.  I haven’t really finished a first draft because I keep getting to the final scenes, and I don’t like the payoff.  Or, lately, I’m realizing that my antagonist is horribly underdeveloped.  So, I go back in and drop in a scene to let the audience know what he/they are up to.

But, just dropping in on them isn’t enough.  They are currently playing a ‘waiting game,’ biding their time for the inevitable appearance of the protagonist to appear on the doorstep (he does  have motivation to do so, and they know it… I just want them to be more active).

Of course, one of the hallmarks of this story is hidden motive, and by the end, the loyalties of nearly every character will come into question until just the final resolution of the plot.  I’ve always appreciated films that keep me guessing until the end and have earned their payoff.  Basically, I like to make a movie that needs a second viewing for extra enjoyment for all the little things that were placed innocuously in places that hopefully weren’t too heavy handed in their foreshadowing.

So, overall… I need a better baddie.  What makes a good bad guy to you?

-Ryan

Leave a Reply

