.:Trailer Report #1

January 28, 2008 at 6:52 pm (trailer report) (, )

Since this blog is still fairly young, I’m going to try out something to hopefully make Monday a little more bearable, and to enlighten you on some movies that are going to be coming out in the near future.

Ever since I happened upon the robust library of Apple Trailers, I’ve been learning about a bevy of films that I probably wouldn’t have heard much about otherwise. A lot of good films get lost in the cracks of advertising due to budgets or whatnot, so I thought I would watch these trailers on my lunch break, link you, and give my opinion on them.

Also, I believe that crafting a good trailer is an art in itself, and this exercise will help me as well. So, here are 5 trailers that I watched, and feel free to comment and discuss.

Young At Heart
Genre:
Documentary
Release: April 18th, 2008
Synopsis: The elderly learn rock songs and go on tour.
Thoughts: Cute. If I were more interested in documentaries it might be on my to-watch list. For now, I’ll stick to the funny YouTube videos.

You Don’t Mess With the Zohan
Genre: Comedy
Release: Summer 2008
Synopsis: Adam Sandler as an Israeli anti-terrorist turned hairstylist.
Thoughts: Standard Sandler comedy fair. Add Rob Schneider as a hezbollah aid-enlisting taxi driver, and you have your conflict. I might see it.

Wanted
Genre: Action
Release: 2008
Synopsis: A young man learns to fill the shoes of his late assassin father through the help of a brotherhood of assassins (James McAvoy, Angelina Jolie, Morgan Freeman) Thoughts: Looks fairly exciting, even if the comic book it is based on is a much darker story (imagine someone who joins supervillians to kill superheroes), but I hear the movie will depart somewhat from the comic. I’m definitely interested.

Prince Caspian (The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe)
Genre: Fantasy
Release: May 16th, 2008
Synopsis: The continuation of tLtWatW series, which has the four children returning to Narnia a year later for them, but many years later for Narnia.
Thoughts: I saw the original, which means I’ll probably see this. The battle sequences look pretty cool, so it’s probably a fair assumption that I’ll see this at some point.

…and the winer of the week is…

Jumper
Genre: Action
Release: Feb 14th, 2008
Synopsis: A young man learns he has the ability to teleport, uses it for his own selfish reasons, discovers there are more out there like him, and that there are people who hunt those with his abilities. (Hayden Christensen, Samuel L. Jackson)
Thoughts:
Wow. The music is incredible in this trailer. Think of this as a Nightcrawler (from X2) on steroids concept… except it’s the basis of the whole movie. It holds a lot of potential and then effects work is incredibly slick. Also, it was directed by the guy that did The Bourne Identity and Mr. & Mrs. Smith (both films I enjoy). That, and I usually love Sam Jackson, and I can’t wait to see Hayden not be Anakin. I’m going.

I hope you’ve found something in here that interests you!

-Ryan

Leave a Reply

