.:Thoughts on Editing – Chapter One

January 25, 2008 at 12:12 am (editing)

Disclaimer: I do not claim to be an expert on editing, nor have I had any formal training… these are just my experiences as a self-taught editor.

Where to start? Well, I don’t recommend Windows Movie Maker. Personally I have no experience with linear editors, but as for the beginning part of this series, it doesn’t much matter if you are using a linear or non-linear editing (NLE) system.

Well, to start, I think of where I want to end. What is my desired finished product? If I’m still not sure? I answer these questions:

  • What pace will my video be? Fast and exciting? Slow and thoughtful?
    • Will there be music to help the pace?
    • How will the feel and pace communicate what I want to the audience?

Knowing the feel and the pace are, I believe, two of the most important things to have locked down before I even import the first clip. Having that solidified puts me in a groove that carries me through the entire editing process.

Now, mind you, depending on the length of a project, the pace and feel does, and should, change. You need dynamics for longer projects, but back when I started, I had to start small. So the following questions had to be answered…

  • How big was my project? How much footage am I dealing with?
    • Depending on the amount of clips, I may need to set up a system to store my clips so I’m not overwhelmed.

So, for a basic introductory to editing, I try to answer these questions:

  1. Do I know my pace?
  2. Do I know what feel I’m going for?
  3. Do I have music that suits my pace and feel?
  4. Do I know how my pace and feel will effect my viewer?
  5. Once I have my footage, do I have a storage system so I’m not overwhelmed?

Once I answer those questions, I’m ready to begin. There are many fine NLE suites out there. Personally, I’ve learned non-linear editing on Adobe’s Premiere, but I’d love to compare and contrast it with Final Cut Pro, Sony Vegas, and Avid someday.

I hope this has been helpful, and while this was rather light on content, hopefully it will get you thinking about what you’re wanting to accomplish instead of wading in to your hips and feeling lost in the process.

-Ryan

1 Comment

  1. .:Thoughts on Production - Chapter One « The Wandering Factotum said,

    […] 6, 2008 at 6:53 pm (production) (production) Before, I mentioned how I begin my editing process.¬† I realized while writing the article that I kept wanting to throw in how I go about starting a […]

Leave a Reply

